Pantry Pal vs Crouton

Pantry Pal vs Crouton: a gorgeous Apple app, or one that runs anywhere and knows your kitchen.

Let's start where it's obvious: Crouton is the best-designed app in this category. It won an Apple Design Award in 2024, it's made by one person, and you can advance a cooking step with a wink. Two things it doesn't do — it doesn't run on Android, Windows or the web, and it holds nothing about the food already in your house. Here's the honest head-to-head.

Try Pantry Pal free

Free to start. No ads. No credit card.

The short versionFive Apple screens vs every screen

Crouton is lovely on an iPhone. Pantry Pal is on whatever everyone in the house already owns — and it remembers what's on the shelf.

Side by sidePantry Pal · Crouton
Pantry Pal compared with Crouton, feature by feature
Feature Pantry Pal Crouton
"What can I make tonight?" Your own saved recipes, ranked against the kitchen already on file — you type nothing Search your recipes, or let it build a meal plan at random — but from your folders and tags, never from your kitchen
A saved record of what you actually have Yes — pantry, fridge, and freezer, with a count on each thing, shared with the household None. No stored quantity, no date, no storage spot — zero hits across the site, the press kit, the store listing and two years of release notes
Best-by dates on the food you own Yes — put a date on anything and pull the shelf down to what's turning first Not offered — there is nothing to put a date on
Add something by scanning its barcode Yes Not offered
A grocery list that leaves off what you already own Yes — what lands on the list is the gap between the recipe and your shelf Lists built from your recipes, and they push into Apple Reminders — but nothing on file to subtract
Devices it runs on Anything with a browser — an Android phone, a Windows laptop, a Chromebook, an old iPad Five Apple platforms and nothing else: iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, Vision Pro. No Android, no Windows, no web
Saving a recipe from a TikTok, Instagram, or YouTube video Yes — paste the link and the ingredients and steps come back as text Not claimed on the site, the press kit, the store listing, or two years of release notes
Where else recipes come in from A web link, a photo of a cookbook page, an EPUB A web link, photo and cookbook OCR, handwritten notes, plain text, PDF, and recipe-blog feeds
Cooking from the recipe itself Hands-free cook mode on Pro The best in the segment — step-by-step mode you steer with a wink, timers that name themselves, Apple Watch, and a Combustion thermometer read inside the recipe
What the free download gets you The whole kitchen with no cap on what you log, your recipes, one shared list, and 5 recipe imports a month, every month Five recipes, then a paid unlock — a cap four separate reviewers say is not disclosed until you hit it
A second paywall after you have already paid No — one Pro plan, and everything on it Crouton Plus is a $24.99 one-time unlock; AI, photo and PDF import later moved out of Plus into a separate Discover subscription at $14.99 a year

Crouton details checked 1 September 2026 against their own site, press kit, App Store listing and release notes, plus Apple's own review feed for the quotes. Prices and tiers move — if something here is out of date, tell us and we'll correct it.

Where the difference landsReach, and the shelf

Two arguments, and neither is about design

01 Everyone who cooks

Not everyone in your house bought an iPhone.

Crouton's sharing runs on iCloud, so a partner on Android isn't merely inconvenienced — they're outside the shared library. One of their own reviewers puts it plainly: they can't share Crouton with anybody who doesn't have an Apple device. Pantry Pal opens in whatever browser is already on the phone, the laptop, or the kitchen tablet.

02 Once, not every time

The app holds the kitchen.

Crouton can pick a recipe for you when you're stuck, but it picks from your folders. It has no idea there's half a squash in the fridge. A saved pantry starts full — a count on each thing, where it sits, when it turns — and your own recipes are sorted by how much of each one you already have.

03 Only the gap

Shop for what's missing.

Because the shelf is on file, the grocery list can work backwards from it: pick the week's recipes you can actually make, and what lands on the list is the difference. Less of the shop ends up in the bin — see the food-waste side.

When Crouton is the better pick

Plainly: if everyone in your kitchen is on Apple hardware, Crouton is a lovely thing to own and we would not talk you out of it. It won an Apple Design Award in 2024 for interaction — a credential we can't match and won't wave away — and it is made by one developer in New Zealand who has clearly spent the hours. The cooking experience is the best in the segment: a step-by-step mode you steer hands-free with a wink, timers that detect themselves and pick their own names, a live temperature read from a Combustion thermometer inside the recipe, Apple Watch and Vision Pro clients. It scans a cookbook page with OCR, reads handwritten notes and PDFs, and syncs the whole thing to the family over iCloud without asking anyone to share a password. It is also cheaper in year one. What it doesn't have is a way onto a non-Apple device, and any idea what food is in your house.

Questions people askPantry Pal vs Crouton
What is the difference between Pantry Pal and Crouton?
Crouton is a beautifully made recipe manager for Apple devices — it won an Apple Design Award in 2024 for interaction, and it deserves it. Two things separate it from Pantry Pal. The first is reach: Crouton runs on iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch and Vision Pro, and nowhere else, so an Android or Windows household is out. Pantry Pal runs in a browser on any of them. The second is what the app knows about your kitchen. Crouton holds your recipes; it holds nothing about the food you already have. Pantry Pal keeps one saved pantry per household, with a count on each thing, storage spots and best-by dates, and ranks your own recipes against it.
Does Crouton have a pantry?
No. We read the Crouton homepage, the whole press kit, the full App Store description and every release note back to August 2024 on 1 September 2026, and there is no pantry, no inventory, no stock level and no expiry date anywhere in the product. The nearest thing is a grocery list generated from your recipes, which pushes into Apple Reminders — and a list is not a record of what you own, because it gets ticked off and cleared. Crouton can also build you a meal plan at random when you are stuck, but the input is your recipe folders and tags. Their own release notes say so: random meal-plan generation gained support for smart folders. Folders, not the food in your fridge.
Is there a Crouton app for Android or Windows?
No. Crouton is Apple-only, by the vendor’s own line: iOS, iPadOS, macOS, visionOS and watchOS. There is no Android app, no Windows app, no web app and no browser extension, and the App Store is the only way in. Their reviewers raise it themselves — one three-star review asks for Android and for Firefox and Chrome extensions; a four-star review asks, in capitals, for a web app and a Windows app; and a one-star reviewer points out that they cannot share Crouton with anyone who does not own an Apple device. Because Crouton’s sharing runs on iCloud, that last one is the real cost: a partner on Android is not inconvenienced, they are left out of the shared library completely. Pantry Pal runs in whatever browser is already on the device, so the household is whoever cooks, not whoever bought the right phone.
How much does Crouton cost, and is it cheaper than Pantry Pal?
Cheaper, yes — and worth understanding before you buy, because it comes in two pieces. The download is free but caps you at five recipes, and four separate reviewers say that limit is not disclosed until you hit it. Crouton Plus is a $24.99 one-time unlock, discounted to $17.99 if you buy in the first day. Then there is Discover, a separate subscription at $1.99 a month or $14.99 a year, which now carries the AI, photo, PDF and text importer — features several reviewers say they had already bought with Plus. Their words, not ours: "now those features are behind a monthly fee." Pantry Pal is free to start with no card, and Pro is $7.99 a month or $59.99 a year for everything, with nothing held behind a second paywall. On year one Crouton is the cheaper app and we would rather say so.
Can Crouton import a recipe from Instagram or TikTok?
It is not claimed anywhere we could check — not the site, not the press kit, not the App Store description, and not in two years of release notes — so treat it as absent rather than impossible; one reviewer does describe saving Instagram recipes, which reads like sharing the post link through the share sheet. What Crouton is genuinely good at is paper and files: photo and cookbook OCR, handwritten notes, plain text and PDF, several of which we do not match. Pantry Pal takes a TikTok, Instagram or YouTube link, listens to the video and reads the caption around it, and brings the ingredients and steps back as text on a review screen you check before anything saves.
Which should I pick, Pantry Pal or Crouton?
Pick Crouton if everyone who cooks in your house is on Apple hardware and the cooking itself is what you care about. It is the best-designed app in this category, it is made by one person who clearly cooks, and nothing we ship comes close to a step you advance with a wink or a thermometer reading inside the recipe. Pick Pantry Pal if someone in the house is on Android or Windows, or if the question you keep asking is not how to cook a recipe but which recipe the fridge will actually allow. That one needs a kitchen the app remembers, and Crouton does not keep one.
Whatever's in the kitchen, on whatever you own

Open it on any device in the house.

No store, no ecosystem, no second paywall. A pantry the whole household shares, and your own recipes sorted by what's already on the shelf.

Try Pantry Pal free

Free to start. No ads. No credit card.